Home POLITICS Bihar Assembly Elections 2020: Congress is fighting 70 seats in which elections...

Bihar Assembly Elections 2020: Congress is fighting 70 seats in which elections have never been won at 45 in two decades


NEW-Delhi-The discussion is going on that the Congress has taken a big shot with 70 seats by pressurizing the RJD in the Bihar assembly elections. It is also reasonable to say that in the last election he fought only 41 seats. But, analyzing all the seats that the country’s oldest party has got to contest elections under synergy, it seems that it is both different things to contest 70 seats and to turn those seats into victories. The Congress may face difficult challenges.

Out of the 70 seats that stunning Yadav has given in the Congress quota, 45 seats are from where the party has never won the election in two decades. The Congress is different, 18, for 20 years, the RJD has not got the opportunity to taste the victory. Out of these, there are 12 seats which have always been with the BJP or the Jdu. Not only that, the Congress, which won 27 seats in 2015 with Jdu and RJD, has also got only 23 seats to fight this time. The rest of the 4 seats have gone to the RJD and left accounts. In return, the RJD has won its two seats. The 4 seating seats which the Congress is not in the fray this time are Bhore, Bachwara, Manjhi and Govinpur. In return, the RJD has given the party its won and the Sakra seats.

The Congress formulae are acknowledging that it is very difficult to win some seats, but they are holding the hope of some ‘ good candidates ‘. As party leaders feel that Sharad Yadav’s daughter, Sulinguini Raj Rao, is a strong candidate from madhepura’s Bihariganj seat, Kali Pandey, who left Lojopa, will definitely win from Kutekot seat in Gopalganj district. Similarly, the party has also fully hoped to win shatrughan Sinha’s son Love Sinha at Bankipur seat in Patna.

Even in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the Congress had managed to take 9 seats from the RJD, but it won only from the Muslim-majority Kishanganj seat. BJP-JD (U) and LJP had succeeded in a total of 40 Lok Sabha seats in Bihar. Even then there was a lot of debate on giving so many seats to the Congress in the RJD. However, the RJD itself could not win a single seat. Party leaders, who are involved in getting 70 seats to the Congress this time, also feel that their deal with the RJD has been good.

Among the tickets distributed by the party are 12 Muslim faces, including former AMU Students Union president Mashkur Ahmad Usmani, who is an anti-CAA face. Usmani has been given a ticket from the webs seat of Darbhanga district. Besides these, the party has also expressed confidence in 7 women candidates. Whereas, the list also includes 11 Bhumhar, 9 Brahmins, 9 Rajputs, 4 Kayastha, 9 Obasi, 14 SC and two EBC candidates.

Out of the 38 seats out of which the party did not contest in 2015, it had won only in Vaishali (2000) and Hisua (2005) in the last 20 years. In 38, 6 seats have been formed after delimitation in 2008, which has since been occupied by the BJP or JD (U). Out of these 38, 19 were last won by Jdu. Supaul, Maharajganj, Nalanda, Harnauth and Sultanganj have been the frequent strongholds of Jdu for two decades.

Not only that, out of the 70 seats in which the Congress is in the fray, there are 7 seats where the BJP has never lost for 20 years. These seats are Chanptia, Raxaul, Patna Sahib, Lakhisarai, Purya, Gaya City and Ramnagar.